Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 16th, 2008

Catholics for Obama?

Sort of interesting piece at Slate arguing that the politically and/or socially conservative Catholics who left the Democrats during the Reagan years may and should return to vote for Obama. I say "sort of" because I don’t think he makes the "should" part of the case very convincingly. He speaks of the Catholic vote as if it were composed entirely of people who take the teachings of the Church seriously and also think pretty hard about politics. My possibly too-cynical view is that that’s true of only a minority of the people who get counted as "Catholic" in these numbers.

I pretty much agree with Rod Dreher’s opinion: why not just say "I’m a Republican who’s sick of the Republicans, and want change. Obama is a likable, decent guy, and I’m willing to take a chance on him"?

Maclin Horton

Read Full Post »