Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 4th, 2011

Just a Note

I am suddenly without a computer in the house, and I have been trying to keep this blog up at the library. Turns out that this particular library has eccentric computers, and a staff that does not know much about them. I seemingly cannot cut and paste images, and when I post a link, that does not appear as something you can click on but just as a written address. I will try another library tomorrow; perhaps that will be more blog friendly…

Please bear with me.

In other news, I am just finishing my annual iconography workshop; small class this year, which means I am not as worn out as I have been in previous years, coming into it after months of working overtime.

And speaking of iconography, I have written here of how I began having trouble painting during Lent, that I had to start one icon over twice. I didn’t know what was going on; my wife thought I needed to go to confession, as it had been a while, and I thought I needed new brushes.

So I went to confession and bought new brushes, which allowed me to finish an icon of Christ, but it was hard. I started noticing odd things about my vision, and eventually figured out that my left eye sees a ghost image just to the right of whatever I am looking at. I went to the doctor last week and it turns out I have a cataract in my left eye. He counseled just living with it, but after this week of painting I think I cannot handle how difficult fine brushwork is getting to be, and I intend to have it removed.

Please remember me in your prayers.

Update: I am at a much friendlier computer today; I went back and added the images, quotes and links I could not yesterday…

Read Full Post »

By 2050, the world will have to feed 9 billion people, adapt to climate change, reduce agricultural pollution and protect fresh water supplies – all at the same time. Given that formidable challenge, what are the quickest, most cost-effective ways to develop more productive, drought-, flood- and pest-resistant crops?

Some will claim that genetically engineered, or GE, crops are the solution. But when compared side-by-side, classical plant breeding bests genetic engineering. Coupled with ecologically based management methods that reduce the environmental harm of crop production, classical breeding could go a long way toward producing the food we will need by mid-century.

Read the rest (thanks to Brenda Comfort):

http://www.cornucopia.org/2011/08/classic-crop-breeding-outperforms-genetic-engineering/

Read Full Post »

“Breivik’s 2083 is heavily influenced by far-right Neocon writing. As is often the case with copy-paste compilations, it is difficult to assign an accurate lineage to the conglomeration of words and those of compiled authors. However, if 2083 is ever published, the copyrights of David Horowitz and Bat Yeor, Daniel Pipes and Andrew Bostom should be given pride of place.  These are the writers who inspired Breivik to commit mass murder.”

More:

http://www.counterpunch.org/shamir08032011.html

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers