Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 15th, 2006

Thomas Storck sent me this link to an interesting conversation about Tony Blair’s conception of Anglo-American values. I put off posting it for a couple of days because I hadn’t finished reading it. I still haven’t, but it’s Holy Saturday and I’m not going to have a chance to for another couple of days, so thought I would go ahead and post the link for anyone interested. I happen to have a pretty strong attachment to the Anglo-American spirit and think it’s the source of much that is good in our culture (and much that is not, obviously), and it’s depressing to see what it’s come to. Appropriately, I ran across a great line from the English novelist Penelope Fitzgerald the other day in Crisis, something about "the English genius for irreligion." Although there have been rumors going about for some time that Blair may be about to become a Catholic.

Maclin Horton

Read Full Post »

The phrase is Chesterton’s, and Dawn Eden cites it in announcing her entry to the Church, and it seems appropriate in that paradoxical way of all things Catholic: the religion with some of the strangest doctrines is also especially the friend of the homeliest things. I don’t know when I have seen grace so plainly in action as while watching Dawn’s progress toward becoming a Catholic over the past couple of years. I join the many who welcome you to the company, Dawn.

Read more of her account of Holy Week here and here. I particularly recommend the second one, an account of the Stations of the Cross in the streets of Manhattan. It’s enough to make this determinedly provincial fellow wish he had been there.

Maclin Horton

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers